Christ College was established in the year 1944 with affiliation in Arts subjects under Utkal University, VaniVihar, Bhubaneswar. Science faculty was added to this College in 1960. Thus the Department of Chemistry took its birth in 1960 along with the Department of Physics, Botany and Zoology. Honours in Chemistry was introduced in the department in 1980. From the beginning, the department had the privilege of having outstanding teachers which has continued till date. This has brought unique reputation to the college. The track record of performance of the students has been consistently excellent. Besides, the department is proud to have organized a state level workshop on “Emerging Areas of Research in Chemistry” on 26th Feb. 2017. A number of times, our students have secured top ten positions in the Utkal University. Many students of our department are now eminent research scholars, professors, administrators, investment bankers, army officers and successful human beings.

The Department of Chemistry conducts its own seminar since 1980. Every year chemistry honoursstudents select one student as their seminar secretary. All the teachers in this department guide and encourage students to take active part in the various activities of the seminar. Regular seminar meetings are arranged where students get the opportunity to listen to guest speakers and interact with them. Besides, the students also present talks on various contemporary topics connected with chemistry. The best presenter is awarded prize in the annual seminar.

The Department includes a research laboratory, two large and well equipped UG laboratories, one junior laboratory, a spacious store room and two well stocked sub-stores one each in the UG laboratory and the junior laboratory. The laboratory facilities include UV-Visible Spectrophotometer, hot air oven, sensitive electronic balance, deep freezers, conductometer, potentiometer, pH meter, deionizer, refrigerator, electric centrifuge, chromatography facility, horizontal electric shake and a computer with laser printer. The laboratory is well maintained and is constantly updated.

Sincerity, punctuality and discipline have been the hallmark of this department and the credit goes to all the teaching and non-teaching staff working in this department. Nine teaching faculty members are presently working in the department out of which three members have completed Ph.D. degree, two of them have submitted their Ph.D thesis and three are pursuing their Ph.D. research work actively.

Faculty profile (including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)
Mr. Alok MishraM.ScLecturer & HOD9937966737
Dr. Dillip Kumar Baral M.Sc. Ph.DLecturer9338235641
Lt. Dr. Pradyumna DashM.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D.Lecturer9937505007
Dr. Mrs. Swati MohantyM.Sc. Ph.DLecturer9437403055
Mr. Ashok Kumar SahooM.Sc., M.PhilLecturer9861066934
Mrs. Mitali MishraM.Sc, M.Phil.Lecturer9776373198
Mrs. M. SanjanaM.Sc., M.PhilLecturer9583210616
Mr. Ra. SwameswarRaoM.Sc., M.PhilLecturer9861180677
Mr. PriyaRanjan DashM.Sc.Lecturer8270769103
Mr. Santosh Kumar NathsharmaM.Sc.Lecturer9776272302
Ms. Smaraki MoharanaDemonstrators and Lab. Assistants9668090063
Mr. Biswabandan SahooDemonstrators and Lab. Assistants9090769301
Mr. Debasish PeterB.Sc.Store Keeper9437511087
Mr. Pitabash SwainAttendants9556669380
Mr. Nanda Nandan RaulAttendants8658177395
Mr. DwarikaNath MoharanaAttendants7377641420
Mr. Sanjay Kumar NayakAttendants9861443559
Mr. Debadipta NayakAttendants7978850144


1. Dr. Arun Kumar Nayak, Reader and Head, Deptt. of Chemistry UN (Auto) College.

2. PravakarSethy, Sundergarh Govt. Autonomous College.

3. Prakash Kumar Sahoo, Rajendra College, Bolangir.

4. HrudayBallav Rout, Executive Trainee, ONGC.

5. Shyama Prasad Panda, AS, PEPSICO.

6. ReemitaMitra, Voicetree Technologies)

7. JigyansaSahoo, Ph.D. NIT, Rourkela.

8. Atis Roy, Ph.D., Scholar, Sagar University, MP

9. Rudra Prasad Rout, Ph.D., Scholar, IIT, Kharagpur.

10. Sekhar Kumar Biswal, Ph.D., Scholar, IIT, Mumbai.

11. AmiyaRanjanMohanty, Senior Manager, Maersk GSC, Pune.

12. UshaKiran, Research Scholar, CSIR, IMMT, Bhubaneswar.

13. Anil Kumar Sahoo, Sub Inspector, Odisha Police.

14. Jitendra Kumar Mohanty, Post Master, India Post

15. GyanendraSatapathy, Indian Navy.

16. Ritesh Kumar Singh, Indian Navy.

17. BikramParida, Indian Army.

18. Rajesh Behera, Indian Army.

19. Nirmal Kumar Sahoo, Indian Railway.

20. PriyadarshiDiptiranjan, Revenue Inspector, Govt. of Odisha.

21. Pragyan P. Mishra, Lecturer and Head, Raghunath Jew College.

22. Lopamudra Panda, Lecturer at GIET, Bhubaneswar.

23. NiharRanjanSahoo, Jr. Clerk, District Court, Cuttack.

24. SourvaDey, Lecturer, Raghunath Jew College.

25. ManasiPatra, Lecturer, IG Women's College, Cuttack

26. PriyaRanjan Dash, Lecturer, Christ College, Cuttack.

27. SanjuktaMohapatra, Lab Assistant, Christ College, Cuttack.

28. PuspitaNayak, Junior Clerk, Dist, Court, Kendrapara

29. Kali Prasad Ghadei, Assistant Manager, Serwin Williams.

30. GoutamGhosh, Branch Manager, National Insurance Company Ltd.

31. Jitendra Kumar Lenka, Paradeep Phosphate Ltd.

32. Rahul Kumar Sahoo, Paradeep Phosphate Ltd.

33. SushantaPallar, manager, Axis Bank

34. Bibhu Prasad Raiguru, Assistant Manager, Axis Bank.

35. Bishnu Prasad Raiguru, Ph.d. Scholar, Ravenshaw University.

36. PrinkilPriyadarshiParida, ZEE India.

37. AlivaAcharya, Junior Hospital Adminstrator, I.M.S. & S.U.M. Hospital.

38. SouravPradhan, Faculty, FITJEE

39. Altamas, Wasi, Abott.

40. Amrut Kumar Sahoo, Glaxo Smith Kline Pharmaceuticals.

Gallery Of Chemistry Department

Noted Alumni of the Department of Chemistry
Pravakar SethyLect., SundargarhGovt College9090699115
Prakash Ku SahooLect., Rajendra College9903245892
HrudayaBallav RoutExecutive Trainee, ONGC7008331962
AmiyaRanjan MohantySenior Manager, Maersk, Pune8270033001
PragyanParamita MishraLect. & HOD , Raghunath Jew College7735501312
Aliva AcharyaJunior Hospital Administrator, I.M.S & S.U,M Hospital,BBSR9178395738
Sourav PradhanLect. in ALLENS,BBSR7008624893
Rahul Kumar SahooExcutive Trainee,PPL,Odisha9778661130
PriyaRanjan DashLect. In Christ College,Cuttack8270769103
Nirmal Kumar SahooIndian Railway79788235848
Sourav DeyLect. In Chemistry, R.N. JEW College,Cuttack8984253852
PriyadarshiDiptiranjanRevenue Inspector, Govt. of Odisha9124882818
Bibhu Prasad RaiguruAsst. Manager, Axis Bank, CTC7008981336
PrinklePrayadarshiEditor,ZEE Media9658001246
Anil Ku. SahooSub Inspector, Rourkela, Odisha9583270207