In 1944, when Cuttack Christian Education Board(CCEB) founded Christ College or the erstwhile Utkal Christian College, it offered only three Intermediate Level courses viz. History, Economics and Odia. Thus, the inception of the department is coincident with the inception of the college.

The department started with an affiliated student strength of 128 and a single sanctioned teacher. In 1946-47 the Department started offering Bachelor's Degree course in History and in 1969, Honours course was added.

The first teacher of the department was Prof. LaxmikantSen who had a very short tenure in the college. Prof. Sen was succeeded by a very talented and dynamic young man - ShriNabin Kumar Sahu, an ardent student of Ancient Indian History. But during his tenure in Christ College, he shifted his focus on regional history and in course of time emerged as a doyen of Odisha History.

Subsequently, this one-man department had the good luck to welcome in its folds a number of enterprising, versatile young scholars who galvanized this department into a veritable arsenal of learning attracting talented students.

Among the lecturers who started their career in History Department of Christ college and subsequently attained remarkable laurels in their career were Dr. Nabin Kumar Sahu, who was not only highly proficient in hissubject, but also was a very successful administrator. He was professor of History in Sambalpur University and also Chief Editor of Odisha Gazetteers. Dr. A.C Sahu was professor of history in Ravenshaw College and was a successful principal in the same college. Sri Gangadhar Das joined the State Administrative Services and subsequently was promoted to the Indian Administrative Service cadre for his administrative efficiency. Dr. Sarat Chandra Behera later joined the Sambalpur University as a Reader in history. Sri D.P. Hazra, who started his career as a lecturer in history in Christ college later joined the General Insurance Company and was subsequently elevated to very high ranks in the company. Sri D.N. Mishra, who started his career as a lecturer in history in Christ college joined the Odisha Administrative Services and subsequently became an IAS officer. Sri Govind Chandra Senapati, who was a lecturer here later joined the State Bank Of India. Sri IndrajitJachuck started his career as a lecturer in history in Christ College then joined IPS and retired as as I.G., Odisha Police. It is a matter of great pleasure that he also served as one of the leading members of the Governing Body of this college. Sri PrithvirajPatro was a lecturer here and later joined as lecturer in the National Defence Academy. Sri LokanathBehera, who was a lecturer here also went on to join the OAS.

Some outstanding students with brilliant academic records in history(pass) not only excelled in their studies, but also occupied various positions of eminence in different walks of life.

Sri Jagannath Prasad Das, joined the Indian Administrative Service and served with remarkable efficiency in various top posts under the Government of Odisha and later joined the Central Government.

Sri Souvagya Mishra, besides teaching English, rose to fame as a distinguished Odia poet and litterateur and won many national and international awards.

Sri Sujogya Mishra and Sri Jayanta Kumar Dash joined the Allied Services- Sri Nirmal Chandra Mishra got into OAS and was promoted to IAS, and is at present the District Collector of Khurdha.

Some students with strong political inclination during their college life subsequently joined political parties of their choice and achieved good reputation. Among them, Sri Mustafiz Ahmed, Sri Samir Dey, Sri NaliniMohanty and Sri PanchanamKanungo pursued political careers and became successful ministers in the Government of Odisha.

The Department of History besides having several luminaries as its faculty members and producing a number of distinguished alumni has given three eminent principals to the College – Sri Sudhansu Mohan Mohapatra, Sri N.K. Karmee and our present principal Sri Manmath Kumar Otta.

The Department of History, since its inception, has been playing a pivotal role in building and fostering an academic ecosystem that not only upholds the reputation of the institution without letting it tarnish but also continues to shine as a bright star in the academic horizon of the state.

The incumbents in succession from 1944-2018 are :
1. Sri Lakshmi KantaSen
2. Sri Nabin Kumar Sahu
3. Sri GourhariSamantaray
4. Sri Rudra Mohan Sahu
5. Sri A.C. Sahu
6. Sri Gangadhar Das
7. Miss AratiPatro
8. Sri Sarat Chandra Behera
9. Sri B.M. Das
10. Sri S.M. Mohapatra
11. Sri D.P. Hazra
12. Sri GovindSenapati
13. Sri IndrajitJachuck
14. Sri N.K. Karmee
15. Sri V. Singh
16. Mrs. RatnaSahu
17. Sri PrithvirajPatra
18. Sri M. K. Otta
19. Smt. BijayaniMohapatra
20. Mrs. GayatriMohapatra
21. Sri LoknathBehera
22. Smt. Nibedita Das
23. Miss. Biswarupa Dash
24. Miss. Subhashree Mishra
Faculty profile (including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)
Dr.(Mrs.) Bijayini MohapatraM.A , PhdLecturer & HOD9439936471
Mrs. Gayatri Mohapatra M.A , M.PhilLecturer9778981586
Mrs. Nibedita Das M.A ,M.PhilLecturer9853618548
Mrs. Biswarupa Dash M.A , M.PhilLecturer9438480351
Mrs. Sbhashree Mishra M.A , M.PhilLecturer8763316488

Gallery Of History Department

Noted Alumni of the Department of History
Sri Nirmal Chandra MishraIAS (Dist. Collector of Khurdha)9439936471
Sri Samir Dey Politician
R. Santosh Kumar Rao Data Entry Operater8249378006
Anjum Shahab Business Person9040501518
Pradyumna Kumar Dash Business Person9437026113
Jitendra Moharana Lect. At Pipili College, Puri9124980492