Christ College, with all its glorious academic achievements established in 1944, is one of the oldest and largest non-government colleges not only in Odisha but also in India. It has produced a number of eminent academicians, scientists, politicians and social workers. Initially, it was affiliated to the Utkal University as an Intermediate College in Arts and was raised to the status of a Degree college with Honours teaching facilities in Odia and English.

Science classes were added to the existing Arts classes in 1960. The birth of physics department took place in the academic session 1960-1961 with the introduction of intermediate course in Science Subsequently B.Sc. (Pass) and B.Sc. (Hons.) courses were introduced respectively in 1964 and 1976. According to the new regulations, +2 and +3 courses in Science were introduced during 1983-84 and 1985-86 academic sessions respectively. Electronics as a subject in +2 Science got affiliation in the academic session 1993-94.

Prof. Harihar Mishra was the first faculty member of the department. But he stayed for a short duration in Christ College as he preferred to join as a Lecturer in government service. After Prof. Mishra, Prof. VelloryVenkateswarRao joined the department. Next year, due to increase in the workload, Prof. Pravat Kumar Kar and Prof. VenigalBalkrishnaRao joined the department.

In 1965, Utkal University gave permission for increase of 32 seats in pre-university class. Prof. Asit Kumar Bose joined the department to cater to the needs of the increased workload.

In 1968 again Utkal University gave permission to increase the number of seats from 128 to 256 in Intermediate Science. This increase in seats enhanced the workload of the department. Prof. NiranjanMohanty joined the department in 1968. In the same year, Prof. V.V. Rao left the department and went to USA for further studies. In 1969, Prof. RamachandraOjha and Prof. NrushingaCharanSamal joined the department. In 1974, Prof. PratapRudraHarichandan joined the department to replace Prof. NiranjanMohanty, who left the job to join a managerial and administrative profession.

In 1976, the Department of Physics got affiliation to introduce Physics Honours with 16 seats. Subsequently, Prof. RaghunathBehera and Prof. (Miss) SwarnaBharati Devi joined the department as per the growing needs of the department.

In 1993, Prof. V.B.K. Rao went to USA on Lien for higher studies. After completion of Lien he opted for VRS to join a job in the US. Grant of lien for higher study in favour of Prof. V.B.K. Rao and introduction of Electronics as a subject in +2 Science in the academic session 1993-94 enhanced the workload of the department Prof. BijayaBhusanAcharyaand Prof. DebasisMohapatra joined the department in 1993 and 1994 respectively as per the requirement of the department.

The faculty members of the department are thorough in their subjects and are fair in teaching. Some faculty members are actively engaged in research activities. They have published many research papers in different journals. Out of nine faculty members, 2 members have attained Ph.D. degree along with M.Phil degree, 3 members have Ph.D. degree and 2 members have M.Phil degree.

Four of our honourable ex-faculty members went on to become principals of our college during their service period. Prof. Pravat Kumar Kar took over the charge of principal in 1995 and superannuated in 1997. Prof. Asit Kumar Bose became the principal in 1997 and retired from his service in 2006. Prof. P.R. Harichandan became the principal during 2008-2011 and Prof. R.N. Behera became the principal in 2011. During their tenures asprincipal, they discharged their duties efficiently to make the college more disciplined, to open new streams and subjects in the college and also for the overall development of the college. Their significant contribution for the college gave a special identity to our college as a leading educational institution of the state.

Earlier this department has organised national level conferences, state level seminars, annual convention of Odisha Physical Society and national workshops. Every year the department arranges one annual seminar by inviting eminent physicists or researchers in physics, Besides this, our department organises students seminars, quiz competitions, competitions on project work and hosts talks on popular science topics to develop interest among students in the subject.

During the last six decades, the department of Physics has produced many brilliant scholars who are engaged themselves in various fields such as scientific research, academics, social activities, banking and other sectors.

Faculty profile (including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)
Dr. BijayaBhusan AcharyaM.Sc.,M.Phil,Ph.DLecturer & HOD9439467651
Mr.Debasis MohapatraM.ScLecturer9861945305
Sri Subrat SamantrayM.Sc.,Ph.DLecturer9338104653
Mrs Mousumi MohantyM.Sc.,Ph.DLecturer7978096638
Mrs. Saswati MishraM.Sc.,Ph.D.Lecturer9937555266
Mrs. MeetanjaliJethyM.Sc.,M.Phil.Lecturer9438119412
Dr. Abhijit SarangiM.Sc.,Ph.DLecturer9437408006
Mrs. SrustiSovana MuduliM.Sc.,M.Phil.Lecturer9853938839
Mrs. Sonia PradhanM.Sc.Lecturer9778780405
Mrs. Nabanita JenaB.ScLab. Assistants797868087
Sri Sanjeeb SamantarayB.ScLab. Assistants8984442464
Mrs. Monalisha NandiB.ScLab. Assistants8249463314
Sri SwayamPrakash MohapatraB.Tect in ETCLab. Assistants7205389845
Mrs. Deepa Nanda PreyasiB.ScStore Keeper9556373491
Sri Purusottam NayakLab. Attendants9090447570
Sri Dibakar BeheraLab. Attendants9124237387
Mrs. Jyotsnamayee SwainLab. Attendants8480821297
Sri Daniel DasLab. Attendants8480821297

Gallery Of Physics Department

Noted Alumni of the Department of Physics
Bibhuti DasWorked at University of California, San Diago
Prof. Dolagobinda RoutHOD,Dept. of Physics, D.D. Autonomous College, Keonjhar
Mr.Prabir Kumar KhilarOAS, Deputy commissioner of BMS9437314721
Miss RizwanaKhatun Reseachscolar, Nanophonics lab, dept. of applied physics, IIT,DHANBAD
Mr Radhanath MishraLect in Physics, Govt. College, Sundargarh9583388280
Mr Tribhuban ParidaJRF,IISER,BERHAMPUR9438658106