Information Technology originated in Christ College in 2005 and since then it has formed an integral part of the glorious history of this institution of learning.

Information Technology (I.T.) which was a 4th optional at +2 level and a compulsory paper in +3 2nd year (Sc.) started functioning under the department of mathematics. In 2005, the department was named Department of “Mathematics & I.T.”. As the infrastructure was available in Mathematics department, the authority introduced Computer Science (Hons.) course in the year 2008 under the said department. In 2005 the strength of I.T. was 32 and subsequently it increased to 64. In 2008 the strength of Comp.Sc.(Hons.)was 16 and remains so till date. When I.T. was introduced in 2005, Sri Asit Kumar Bose was the Principal of Christ College. Sri PremnathChaki was appointed as Lecturer in I.T. in 2005 and after he gave up the job, Miss Monalisha Swain was appointed as Lecturer in I.T. in 2007. After Miss Monalisha Swain left, Miss Itishree Swain was appointed as the Lecturer in I.T. in 2008.

In 2011, I.T and Comp. Sc. (Hons.) bifurcated from the mathematics departmentand Mrs. Itishree Swain became the H.O.D. The authority of this college made separate arrangement for practical laboratory for the I.T and Comp. Sc. department. The department of I.T and Comp. Sc. (Hons.) is operating on self-financing basis. The department possesses 24 computers.

A good no. of students have enrolled in I.T. and Comp. Sc. (Hons.) courses and have achieved excellent results in the examinations. Mrs. PrativaPrusty and Miss P.N. Suchismita have the distinction of bagging gold medal from Utkal University in 2016 and 2018 respectively. It is a matter of pride that the students in society who have passed with Comp. Sc. (Hons.) from this college are in good positions.

Faculty profile (including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)
Mrs. Itishree Swain M.Sc.Lecturer & HOD
Ms. Prangya Paramita Jethi M.Sc.Lecturer
Mr. Satyabrata Mishra MCALecturer
Mrs. PrativaPrustyMCALecturer
Miss Karishma MohapatraMCA, M.TechLecturer

Gallery Of IT & Computer Science Department

Noted Alumni of the Department of I.T. & Computer Science
Aliva ChandProgramme Executive 9439068204
Ashima MishraJunior Clerk, District Registrar, Puri8895293971
SayedZaheer AhmedJunior Manager, NALCO9777111170
Rajashree Tripathy Software Developer, WIPRO8270676099
Swagatika LenkaAssistant Teacher, SVS, Senior Secondary School9178248612
Shree Rudra PratikTechnical Assistant, CEB, Bhubaneswar8093107442
Kartik JenaEmployee, Kotak Mahindra 8763526644
Sumeet RoySoftware Engineer, RIAXE8093760992
Padmashree DasOfficer (Operations), Axis Bank8763712361
Prativa PrustyLecturer in Computer Science, Christ College9937191602
Surath Kumar MoharanaGraphics Designer in DQ Entertainment7504906925
Smrutidhar BarikConstable, OISF, Cuttack8093494701