The Department of Political Science was a part of the Department of Economics till early 1960s. In 1965 it emerged as a separate full-fledged department and Shri L.M. Kanungo became the first H.O.D. Mr. Kanungo, successfully continued as the Head of the Department till 2002. Due to the sudden demise of ShriKanungo on 6th Nov. 2002, Dr. PabakKanungo, the next senior member of the department took the charge of headship and run the department successfully till his retirement in 2007. Dr. PabakKanungo, who joined the college in 1971, is an eminent literary figure and a reputed columnist in the state. He is also a scholar of Gandhian Philosophy and was awarded the OdishaSahitya Academy Award for his book "Orissa O Gandhi". He is also associated with the OdiyaEncyclopaedia Project of his father late ShriBinodKanungo, who was a noted Gandhian and freedom fighter of our country. Dr. Kanungo did his Ph.D. on "Kendu leaf in Orissa Politics". To his credit, it might be worthwhile to mention here that he was the President of Odisha Political Science Association during 2006-2007. Maj. Y. M. Mulla, the next senior professor of the department was an outstanding sportsman of the state. As a Major, his contribution towards the N.C.C. wing of the state is highly commendable. He was not only a prominent scholar of political science but also an outstanding officer of N.C.C. for which he has been awarded by the honourable Chief Minister of the state, Sj. Naveen Pattnaik.

Mrs. Swati Dash has completed her post graduation&M.Phil from Utkal University, VaniVihar. The topic of her M.Phil dissertation is "Voluntary Organizations in Socio-Economic Development with special reference to Bhubaneswar City". Mrs. Dash has been with involved herself in various research programmes and social work activities since her graduation days. Mrs. Dash is a life member of different organizations like Odisha Political Science Association, Indian Institute of Public Administration and Voice for Voiceless.

Dr. Dipak Kumar Dash has completed his master’s degree and M.Phil from UtkalUniverstiy. Dr. Dash has done PGCJMC from IGNOU&MJMC from North Odisha University. He was awarded his Ph.D degree in 2012 from Ravenshaw University on "NAM- A study of its Role Since 1992." Dr. Dash has done his M.Phildisseration on "NAM- Dynamics and Relevance". He qualified UGC-NET in 2006 and is an active member of various associations related to academics like Odisha Political Science Association. He is in the Editorial Board of a journal named "The Third Voice - Experience and Expression". Dr. Dash is the author of 15 books, published by Kalyani Publishers, New Delhi.

Mrs. RinkuMohapatra completed her post graduation from Utkal University and M.Phil from F.M. University, Balasore on "Troubled Water of South-China Sea : India-China engagement". She has also completed B.Ed from RNIASE, Cuttack. To her credit, it can be mentioned here that Mrs. Mohapatra is a prolific singer of the state.

Miss SradhanjaliPattnayak completed her post-graduation from Utkal University, VaniVihar and M.Phil from Ravenshaw University on "India-China Relations : A study of the Interface Between Political and Strategic Dimensions." She has also completed B.Ed from Nagarjuna University, Hyderabad.

The student strength of the Department is 32 in each class. Since the introduction of Honours in 1972, the overall performance of the students is highly satisfactory.

Faculty profile (including teaching, non-teaching & technical staff)
Mrs. Swati DashM.A., M.Phill.Lecturer & HOD9937773303
Dr. Dipak Kumar Dash M.A., M.Phill., PGJMC, MJMC, NET, Ph.D.,Lecturer9861011628
Mrs. Rinku Mohapatra M.A., B.Ed.,Lecturer7008638718
Miss Sradhanjali Pattnaik M.A, M.Phil, B.EdLecturer9658602162

Gallery Of Political Science Department

Noted Alumni of the Department of Political Science
Sri. Debi Prasad MishraVice President BJD & Ex-Minister,Govt. Of Odisha9437053030
Sri Sameer DeyEx-Minister, Govt of Odisha9437055678
Sri Rabinarayan Nanda Retd. IAS9437031392
Sri Pravat TripathyMLA, Former Chief Whip, Govt. of Odisha9437277611
Sri Panchanan KanungoEx-Minister, Govt of Odisha9438360849
Sri Satyabrata TripathyOllywood Actor & Chairman, OFDC, Odisha9437385870
Sri Nigamananda PandaRetd IAS
Sri Prafulla Das Odisha Bureau Chief, The Hindi9861090699
Sri Sarat RoutEx-Minister, Govt. Of Odisha
Mrs.Varsha PriyadarshiniOlywood Actress9861017151
Sri Rajat Kumar Mishra Itallian Language Expert Amazone India8375841450
Sri Soumendra GhoshEx-Mayor,CMC9437475900
Sri Budhadeb RoutrayAdvocate, Odisha High Court9437495921
Dr.SmrutiRanjan DhalAsst. Prof, Centra University,Gujrat8511927253
Sri Bhakti MohantyBureau Head, Nitidin9338101083
Sri Rajib SarangiEditor, Janhabi Magazine9556262790
Sri SukeshRanjan BeheraCuttack Head, Prameya9439636680
Miss Tapaswini BeheraAsst. Professor, Paradeep College, Odisha8895084189
Sri Santosh MohapatraGeneral Secratery, BCJD8328818833
Sri Sambit BeheraGeneral Secratery, BCJD9437051782
Sri Snehasis SahooAsst. Prof, UtkalmaniGopabandhu Degree College, Mathili9853452562
Sri Sandeep BalAsst. Prof., Derabis College, Kendrapara, Odisha9438801320
Sri Chinamaya PradhanBrahmani College, Kendrapara, Odisha7873847321
Sri Dibakar BeheraPh.D.,SIS,JNU,NEW DELHI8908086749
Sri IppliSibasankarAsst.Prof, MaimaMahavidyalaya, Dhenkanal, Odisha8270136041
Sri Rajendra BarikReascherScolar, F.M. University8093585863